This is why printing money isn’t going to work, in pictures.

Japan has a bold new plan to print a bunch of money. The United States has a brilliant plan to print a bunch of money. Guess what Europe is planning to do? Print money!


Our boy is keeping the faith. Good thing, since no one else believes this bill is worth anything.


I guarantee you that 500 billion dinars is worth a fortune………cookie.


100 million? No, thats a milliard, or “billion” in English. You could pay off Dr. Evil with just one of these bad boys.

All those zeros must be making that kid rich!

No. I guess he was just taking out the trash. Good thing he saved the rubber bands.

Ten million pengos. Practically worth its weight in paper.

Five hundred trillion dollar fine for littering.

When thirteen zeros won’t do…call inflation walrus!


And this is why our Fed won’t save us with their printing presses. Others have tried, all have failed.

Published in: on January 25, 2013 at 4:41 am  Comments (13)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I created my own you might want to add: The Barackazillion BTW, years ago I bought a ton of the $100 trillion Zimbabwe notes. They have appreciated by about 400%!

    • Oh that is so wonderful. “Barackazillions are redeemable for more Barackazillions”. What’s the exchange rate for an ounce of gold?

      • Good question! At the going rate for the “gold” Barackazillion, it is about 110. For the Green and Blue Barackazillions it is 160. As you may guess, exchange rates are set by me since I am the creator of the currency, and can be changed at anytime at my discretion.

        • I’ll have to send you some dried beans in exchange for some of these Barackazillions once the dollar is worthless. You print them on nice paper, right?

          • Actually, the Barackazillions are the world’s strongest currency. Why? Because you can’t rip them in half (I use Yupo paper which you can’t tear). Sure, beans are fine. As long as they aren’t magic beans!

  2. Don’t forget Hungary’s sextillion “dollar” note! The highest denomination ever printed…ever.

    • Thanks for the link! I did consider it, but the lack of zeroes made it unclear exactly as to what was going on. I suppose they didn’t like scientific notation?

  3. […] This is why printing money isn’t going to work, in pictures. « Shades of Thomas Paine. […]

  4. Take Indian Rupee in your account please

    • I certainly hope India never gets to the 500 billion rupee note! India is experiencing 13% inflation these days?

  5. I think it is a good from Japan that Japan decided to print the bunch of money and I certainly hope it will work for Japan.

  6. Great post. I’m experiencing many of these issues as well..

  7. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to know so much about this, such
    as you wrote the guide in it or something. I think that you
    just can do with some percent to drive the message house a little bit, but other than that, this is
    magnificent blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

